John's Grip Journal

Vice

I thought I would start a journal to help track my progress and get some encouragment along the way to keep me motivated. I've been training my grip off and on for the past 2 years and just recently started back up about a month ago. For the past month I've been training with blockweights and doing rotations with a couple 3lb. shot puts to build my strength back up.

Today I started back on grippers, as these are my passion when it comes to training grip. Right now I can close the #2 consistanly with either hand. My short term goal is to close my new HG300, and long term goal is to close the #3 and certify as a Mash Monster and then hopefully a COC.

My grip routine for the next couple months is a spin off of KTA. I'll be gradually increasing the volume throughout the next couple of months and tracking my progress.

7-25-05

Warmup:

#1x1 with both hands

Test w/HG 300:

5/16" with right hand

1/4" with left hand

Work sets:

4 Overcrushes with a filed Super Advanced

4 Smooth Negatives with a narrow Elite

2 sets of TTK 15#x10/17.5#x8

2 sets of extensors with IM bands, greenx15/yellowx10

Finished the workout off with some contrast baths and my hands feel amazing.

• Replies 250
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Vice

• bencrush

• pdoire

• madknight

Top Posters In This Topic

7-26-05

Went to the gym and had a great leg workout and got some real good squats in there. Hands are always stronger after doing squats for some reason.

Warmup:

#1x1, HG200x1, Filed #2 Held for 7 seconds RH/6 seconds LH PR!

Work sets:

Note: Filed a little more off my Super Advanced before the workout to make OC's harder.

4 Overcrushes with filed Super Advanced grinded the handles for 12 seconds

4 Smooth out Negatives with narrow Elite

2 sets of TTK 17.5#x10/20#x6 PR!

2 sets of extensors, IM yellow x 25/green x 15

Finished off with contrast baths again and my hands feel STRONG.