Training Log

Guest drfish

Guest drfish

I'm a newbie on this board. Some others I know post here. I recently started training for strongman. I've been fortunate enough to have met and occasionaily train with some strongmen from the Fargo, ND, area... James, Darin, Mike, Matt, John, Dave, Reese.

4/24/08

Flat Dumbell Press

warm up sets

Flat Bench Press - close grip (index finger next to smooth part of bar)

185x2

225x2

245x1

275x1 (medium grip - index fingers 2 inches from smooth part of bar)

295x1 (medium grip)

Dips

BW+60. 1x8, 1x9, 1x10

Cable Triceps pushdown (2 pulley machine, 1 fixed, 1 movable, so real resistance is half the weight)

130x12, 160x12, 190x12

Barbell Row - Bent Over

245 x8 x9 x9

Cable Upper Back (2 pulley machine again)

170 x17 x14 x14

4/26/08

Dynamic work

Hang Clean

warm up sets

185x3

205x3

215x2 (3rd rep miss)

215x2 (3rd rep miss)

I'm trying to change my clean technique. I was using the old way I was taught by high school football coaches. Now I'm trying to clean how Matt and Darin showed me a while back. Pull not so fast off the ground, explode with hips at the correct time, get bar travel correct.

Jerks - some push, some split

many sets of all the below

135x2

155x2

175x2

Sadly this was my first time doing any type of jerk (that sounds dirty), but I know I need to incorporate this.

Bulgarian Split Squat w/ dumbells

70s x8 x8

Shrugs - 411 tempo for a change

225 x8

Static Hangs - DO

45s, 30s, 30s (roughly)

Edited by drfish

• Replies 751
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• easyWeight

• Matt Brouse

• carusom1

• jwdeff

Guest drfish

4/28/08

dynamic work

Flat Dumbell Press - speed work

(weight x sets x reps)

70 x3 x3

60 x5 x3

Dips

BW x18 x15 x14

Pullups

BW+10.

DO x10

UG x7

DO x7

Dumbell Hammer Curls - alternating

50x17

Cable Upper Back (2 pulley machine)

170 x16 x12 x11

4/30/08

Deadlift

warm up sets

315x3

365x2

405x1 switch to alt grip

425x1

475x1

495x1