Gumpster's Gripping

gumpster

After much deliberating I've finally decided to start a log. Odin suggested it some months back but I didn't feel the time was right. I'm a bit of a stick in appearance so this might be inspiring for other skinny guys out there. Yesterday I had a "bender's high" (like a runner's high for those who know) and I think that pushed me over the edge.

I figure a little background won't hurt so here it goes... I have zero experience in strength sports/training, only endurance sports (mid/long distance running, bicycling, race-walking). I'm not new to training hard, getting sore and pushing through discomfort (I've got 8 full marathons under my belt and countless 5K/10K races). I ran cross country/track in high school and kept my interest in endurance sports all through my 20s. At 29 I crashed hard while mountain biking and suffered compression fractures on my T9/10 vertebrae and a bit of damage to my right shoulder (fortunately I wasn't alone as I couldn't walk and was far from help). I spent 6 weeks in the hospital with a torso cast and months following in a plastic brace and going through physical therapy. The end result is the doctors can't do much for me and I have back pain from the time I wake up until I go to bed. So I've learned to live with it (what they refer to as "sucking it up" :dry ) and though it may get worse as I get older I'm not planning to sit idle and wait for it to creep up on me. No more risky mountain biking but I still enjoy the activity. I've cut back on physical activity the past few years and was looking for something to renew my interest when I happened upon the mashmonster web site. I read about these heavy duty grippers and was hooked. The grip related stuff seemed like a good fit since it shouldn't tax my back too much and so far it hasn't. In January 2007 I got a CoC #2 and played with it a couple times a week for 6 months before I got it closed. Just about that time I joined this board and discovered there wa