In need of GRIP SCIENTISTS - Looking for scientific articles, anatomy, anecdotes, links. What makes strong fingers?

Heath_00000

Hello grip veterans. I hope you are doing well.

This is my second post, and I'm a newbie to grip specific science, but not sports science in general. I have... many, many questions. 

When a muscle contracts, it pulls tendons, causing them to move. Tendons do not generate mechanical forces, only elastic forces. The muscles of the hand only extend to the base of each finger. Anecdotally, I feel like my fingers, and fingertips have increased in strength, specifically in FLEXION. Is it completely neurological? Placebo? A product of increased palm muscle strength?

I know muscles can hypertrophy/strengthen/both measurably in very little time, and tendons take months to strengthen... but what is tendon strengthening? Tendons being able to resist greater forces? Then how would finger flexion gains be possible above the MCP joint? 

I've just heard of "Rate Coding" from Mighty Joe. This makes me wonder, what percent of crushing grip, or other types of grip based on neurological upgrades? Is it 80% strength, 20% neurological upgrades? 50/50? 95/5? Again, anecdotes welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Heath

11 hours ago, Heath_00000 said:

Are these forbidden questions?

No, not at all. But I guess your question didn’t hook anyone. Tell us more about what you’re after here. Maybe shorten the inquiry so it’s a more focused question? 

• Like 1

On 9/23/2023 at 10:26 PM, Heath_00000 said:

I've just heard of "Rate Coding" from Mighty Joe. This makes me wonder, what percent of crushing grip, or other types of grip based on neurological upgrades? Is it 80% strength, 20% neurological upgrades? 50/50? 95/5? Again, anecdotes welcome.

If this thread isn't where you heard of rate coding then you might find it interesting. 

On 9/23/2023 at 10:26 PM, Heath_00000 said: