How To Kick Start A Stalled Out Over Head Press

dageda

I have a quick question for the heavy pressers on this board.

For the month of January I had been making steady (although small) gains on my max effort overhead press. Recently however, I've noticed that my gains have completely stopped and I'm starting to develop pain in my left shoulder. I am a novice to any kind of pressing and would consider myself amateur at best.

My routine looks like this:

- max effort pressing exercise (could be BTN press, military press.. etc.) - 10 sets of singles or doubles

- dips with weight attached to dipping belt - 4 sets of 10

- bent rows - 4 sets of 10

The second day of pressing in the same week, is almost identical except that I do the pressing exercise for speed as a dynamic exercise.

How do you kickstart a stalled over head press? What kinds of weaknesses / instabilities did you look for and how did you fix them?

Stop doing it for a while and try incline or steep inclines

I will throw on more weight than I can press and then cheat it up, like a push press and then do negatives fighting the weight from coming down. After a few weeks of forced push presses with more weight than usuall and doing hard negatives on the way down my press number always go up. Thats option 1, option 2 could be that you need a little break from direct overhead pressing. As stated previously, do some other excercises that are not a overhead press, but will train similiar muscles involved in the press ie. Incline presses, 1 arm snatches make my overhead stronger as well as Turkish get ups for heavy singles.

Im an overhead junkie. ...its my favorite thing to do. I have put 450lbs overhead in the jerk.

Feel free to pm me, and I would be happy to try to help you out.

First of all, I´m a powerlifter so I seldom press overhead but I recently made a nice PR in the pushpress and I did it like this.