My Journey To The Pro Circuit

Clay Edgin

I've been posting my workouts for a couple months over on Marunde-Muscle.com but figured I should post them here as well if anyone has any constructive feedback. Shawn as you know is Woodchuck from the board, and Chan is our training partner who I met when he volunteered to be a spotter/loader at the contest I won back in May. My goal is to become a professional strongman and perhaps work my way up to compete with the tier one guys like Marunde, Andersen, Pudz, and the like. That's a long ways away though.

As a nice surprise, I got to train my wife and her best friend, who is also Shawn's wife. No, you sickos, not like that. They wanted to give it a shot so I put them through the motions. I'll post their workouts here as well. We gotta whole team going on here!!! Today I put up a dry erase board with names of the people who train at the garage and their best lifts in certain disciplines. I hope hanging it within eyeshot of the rack will motivate people even more. The guys loved it, I know that.

Event day

Stones all to 47":

Clay: 175kegx2, 230x1, 290x1, 320x1, 350x1

Shawn: 175kegx2, 230x2, 290x1 (ties PR), lapped 320 (PR)

Chan: 175kegx2, 230x3, lapped 290 (PR)

That 350 is cake now. I'm creating a video of it for posting while I'm typing this. Having the platform lower I think helped a little mental block Shawn and Chan had from last week. In the video of Shawn doing the 290, he barely skims the ledge of the platform on the way up because it slid down his shirt a bit. Chan is learning more techniques on the stones. Once it clicks, he'll be loading the 290 faster than Shawn. Shawn doesn't think a 320lb stone is possible for him so I'll have to figure out a way to slap that notion out of his head.

Farmer's walk - 50ft:

Clay: 160x2, 280x2, 405x8'2" (PR)

Shawn: 160x2, 280x2 (PR), 285x1 (PR)

Chan: 160x2, 210x2

Kelli: 70x50ft, x100ft, 90x100ft (PR), 90x50ft in 13.10 seconds