Cj's Grip Journey

cjcocn

Hello all

I am new to the grip world, but I bought some CoCs (T-#3) a while back so figured that I had better do something with them (besides, I just ordered the HG set: 100-300).

Weight: 290 lbs

Last regular workout routine: 1997

Grip history: spiking, shovelling, moving rails, etc. ('88-'93)

Other: tried a couple of strongman training movements last year, hub lifted a 45 at that time (went and tried it today and could only start it off the floor).

I have been reading the forum regularly since I registered about a week and a half ago, and today started a routine.

Implements: CoC T - #3; 2 RTs; smooth faced 10s (for 1" bar); smooth one side 10s (for O bar); test weight (adjustable); 10 lb sledge; 2 thick handle DBs; 14' of 1" rope; and a HG set on the way ... and some chalk.

Feel free to comment, suggest, etc. as you see fit. I made up this routine to start off with and will keep it until I determine a change is needed somewhere (via your recommendations is fine!).

NOTE: All movements are done for each hand

Pinch Grip Plate Holds:

2 10s - 15 sec @ 20 lbs

- 20 sec @ 20 lbs

- 20 sec @ 20 lbs

3 10s - 30 sec @ 30 lbs

- 30 sec @ 30 lbs

- 30 sec @ 30 lbs

Store-bought Grippers:

1 X 25 reps

CoC T:

10; 15; 10 reps

CoC #2 (My #1s grew legs :dry ):

1 rep, hold closed 5 secs

Plate curls:

2 10s (1") X 10 reps

2 10s (1") X 10 reps

2 10s (1") X 10 reps

DB Wrist Curls (palms up = PU; palms down = PD):

PU

10 reps @ 40 lbs

10 reps @ 40 lbs

10 reps @ 40 lbs

PD

15 reps @ 20 lbs

15 reps @ 20 lbs

15 reps @ 20 lbs

Sledge:

Sledge head down to upright position (180°) ... done like a half curl, handle held 13" from sledge head

3 X 5 reps

Ins & Outs:

Arm held bent at 45°; starting upright, control it down to the right (so my thumb side is dropping sideways) until almost inverted, then back up and over until the sledge is once more almost inverted ... always in a controlled fashion and handle again held 13" from sledgehead.