Gripper Training Progress Slowed/ Plateaued. Need Advice Please!

fraivillig

Hi all, I'm new to the Grip Board and I'm certain this topic/ similar topics have been covered extensively on this forum. Regardless, I wanted to get y'alls advice. 

I'm relatively new to grip in general and started messing around with CoC grippers about a year ago. I started out being able to close a trainer but failing on the Coc #1. From then I've worked fairly consistently and am now closing the CoC #2.5 two times consecutively, which is definite progress from where I started, but I've noticed my progress slowing down considerably over the last several months.

Below is an example of my current gripper workout. This of course has changed over the course of my progress.

Warm up w CoC #1 x 5. 

Warm up w Standard Gold x 5

Warm up w Coc #2 x 5

Maximum Reps with Coc #2.5.. (currently I can do 2 reps)

1-2 Working Sets w Standard Platinum till failure

1-2 Working Sets w Coc #2 till failure

(May possibly do an additional working set after these with the Standard Gold if I'm not satisfied with my other working sets. Although, I try to limit to 4 working sets total)

Cool down with Coc #1 till failure

When I started out, I would do this workout 3 times per week. But within the last several months I've dropped it to 2x per week, bc I felt I wasn't getting enough recovery. 

As far as other training, I use a pinch block that I'll do after my gripper workout once per week. I'll also use a fat bar wrist roller once per week after my gripper workout. Additionally, I do weighted pull ups or kettlebell swings typically before my gripper workout, which I know may interfere with my gripper gains slightly. On my off days, I'll lap swim to keep up some CV fitness.

Anyways, that's it for the longwinded post. Any general advice would be greatly appreciated! 

I’m no big closer, so take that for what it is. 

Two things: