Forearm/wrist/hand Functions And Exercises

ianders1

As many of you know, I am not trying to close the #3 (yet) or compete in any strongman competitions. I am trying to get healthy, pain free hands. I've studied some medical texts and have mapped out the functions of the forearms/wrists/hands and I've mapped them out in a table along with the corresponding exercises. I would like some feedback, to get this right, in the hopes of using this to design a complete program. Here's the link:

Grip Table

Thanks in advance for everyone's feedback.

I am new to the grip world, but IMO your effort was well done and thought provoking. The only thing that came to mind immediately as something to add was dexterity balls and related exercises.

Now that I think of it, you might also want to list some more specific exercises done with barbells/dumbells/etc., such as variations of the one-handed deadlift. Also, both of John Brookfield's books list many different exercises...but I do like the way you have organized your information. I am sure that this will be a "dynamic" and ongoing process in itself, because there are so many possible exercises.

I'm glad that you like it and think I'm doing something useful. Maybe once it's sorted out, Wanna can post it in the FAQ. I added the dexterity balls, thick bar work, wrist roller, sand bags, finger walking, etc., and in the next few days I'm going to add little video clips to show exactly what the movement I'm describing is.

Eventually I'd like to identify which muscle groups are involved to see what if any overlap there may be. Wish me luck :)

Edited by ianders1

Good stuff ...I tried to do something like this myself once... didn't get this far :)

Some things that could be added, if ya like...

Finger Adduction (Pull Together) - I'm gathering this is in a "claw" type position? ...hub lifts are like this, but only with the end finger joint... shot-put/baseball lifts are too, but with all the finger joints.