106lb Kb Press Today

bwwm

I've been working on my kettlebell Clean & Press since 8/2/2010, with the goal of pressing "the beast". I've been using Pavel's Enter the Kettlebell Rite of Passage program. It's taken a lot of work, cycling back to prior set/rep levels, and some assistance work (TGUs, rotator cuff work, etc.). Today, I finally nailed it:

http://youtu.be/r8ZF9S8bEKo

• Like 2

Dude, very cool! Congrats on nailing a beastly goal! Watching that makes me feel like a wimp since that's close to my two hand strict OH press.

Most impressive, Martin. Congratulations!

How much do you think you could strict press with a dumbbell?

Most impressive, Martin. Congratulations! How much do you think you could strict press with a dumbbell?

Thanks all for the kudos!

Eric - I don't know as I don't have a gym membership, and not sure if the dumbbells at the gym at work go up that high (I stopped going there after they made it more into a 'fitness center' with all sorts of computer gadgetry). Based on what I've read about the center of gravity differences and their effect on the biomechanics of pressing, the KB supposedly has a harder start, and the dumbbell has a harder lockout. I'm usually pretty good at lockout, so I'm guessing I could hit 110 dumbbell strict. I have a 2" handled dumbbell bar at home I could try loading up in another month or so and test my press again with that.

Very impressive Martin! New PR's seem to be a thing for you in the past few days!

Pretty easy dude. Nice work.

Most impressive, Martin. Congratulations! How much do you think you could strict press with a dumbbell?

Thanks all for the kudos!