What Is A Decent Ttk 1rm

hellswindstaff

I just started playing with this thing and I'm maxing out 25lbs using both thumbs. Does anyone know what a decent poundage to shoot for is?

Are you doing it like a door key pinch or with your fingers extended?

I'm doing it with the fingers extended. Haven't tested the door key pinch, but I assume that grip is self explanatory. Anyone know a respectable poundage?

I've seen mention of Joe Kinney doing 45 kilos.

Take that back - response from Kinney on a thread on another board:

- Ability to clamp 45+ KG on the Titan Telegraph Key at any time

I've never owned or trained on a Titan's Telegraph Key. The only

time I've ever even touched one was during the filming of an interview

with John Wood - more than a decade after I quit training and with no

serious weight on-board. The thing I used to train on was home-made

and clearly had a different ratio. Once again; find that claim.

Scott, I've heard about the Kenny claims and I also saw the video and he said that he made his TTK. So I'm guessing that it was on a much shorter lever, because if it were the 2:1 or 3:1 ratio then he would have been able to close the CoC#3 with his thumb.

You got me curious. Mine is a copy someone made for me. It measures 7.5" from the pinch plate to the fulcrum of the lever, then 11.5" from the fulcrum to the center of the loading pin. I can do 12.5lbs with one hand or 25lbs with 2 hands. I failed at attempts on 15lbs and 30lbs, respectively.

Typically the higher level grip guys are 2-3x as strong as me on a pinch event.

Yours is a replica?

I can currently set my #3 (can't close it), and I want to be able to set the #4. I'm guessing that will take a while though :P. Just trying to figure out what to set as a goal though

Kinneys TTK was much shorter than IMs. Cant compare. I have an IM TTK and have worked out with 30++ pounds. My thumb is still the weak in thick pinching and blobing so I dont consider my thumb strength up to par.