Now This Is Raw!

Bill Piche

This guy's a great lifter. He's one of the first US lifters I've seen who has figured out that if you want to compete at the international level in Olympic lifting, you've got to avoid the drug tests for a little while, build up some strength, then enter competition later. The Russians are famous for doing this but for some reason the US lifters haven't figured it out yet. Pat is ahead of the curve in many ways. I think he'll represent the US very well in 2012.

So that's what my squats are supposed to look like? OK, now I get it now. laughing.gif

Crazy strength there. buttrock.gif

I think I get it but now I have to DO it. blink.gifsmile.gif

Btw, I paused through the vid to look at his form. Serious question, guys - is there anything about that lift that wasn't great? (I sure didn't see anything, but I'm new to this.) I'm looking for some good examples to study.

Btw, I paused through the vid to look at his form. Serious question, guys - is there anything about that lift that wasn't great? (I sure didn't see anything, but I'm new to this.) I'm looking for some good examples to study.

His form is perfect. It takes someone built for squatting to make a squat look that pretty.

His form is perfect. It takes someone built for squatting to make a squat look that pretty.

I'll go with that. smile.gif

Too much bouncing and too much drop (speed wise down) and squat. Probably really too deep with back lower lumbar rounding? I'd have to stop it in the bottom again to see for sure.

But, he's an O-lifter and they take that risk and that's typical for them.

Most people could not do that and survive. Can you hear RIP with a quad/hamstring or even knee? I can for most normal people.

Just looked again....

Yup, he has some good hip tuck going on at the bottom. That will kill your lower back long term.

For the majority of us, this is not the way to squat.

I posted it because this is a truly RAW squat. Just man against the bar.