Help With Dl Form

Guest Bullitt

I am trying to increase my axle deadlift numbers. I know my form could use some work. I welcome brutally honest, constructive criticism. These were done on a new 2" axle i just made. The most I have ever pulled on an Oly bar is 370lb DO, which I know is pathetic. Take a look and if you can see anything that would help this old man pull more, I am all ears. I do wear a belt anytime the weight goes up because I have a bad lower back. 2 surgeries for a severe herniation about 2 1/2 years ago. Anyway, let me know what you think. Thanks!

270 lbs X 3 axle DL:

Jedd's blog has my Deadlift 101 video on it. There I explain in good detail how to put your body in the proper position for pulling conventional and sumo.

I'm sure the same form changes will help your axle as well.

Judging from your signature, you've got some great hand strength - closed the CofC#3.5? :bow

I've never done this exercise before, but if you really want to get strong, I would alternative training sessions with "holds." Elevate the weight so that your ROM is restricted to a few inches. Throw on an extra 100+ pounds and do "holds" for 20-45 seconds - for as many sets as possible until your hands feel like they are going to fall off.

Week One

Normal training

Week two

"Holds" until your hands feel like they are going to fall off

One word of caution - it's okay to do full ROM before doing "holds" but do NOT do them afterwards as the risk of injury is quite high when you go from super heavy partials/holds to medium weight/full ROM.

Your hand "holding power" would appear to be the weak link in that exercise - I think the "holds" would get you where you need to be. At the same time, given your recent injuries, I would train with caution.

Edited by G-Man

Jedd's blog has my Deadlift 101 video on it. There I explain in good detail how to put your body in the proper position for pulling conventional and sumo.

Thanks everyone. I will definitely check it out Rick!