Deadlift Form

CoC#3

Am i doing anything majorly wrong here? I'd be very grateful if the experienced deadlifters like Rex and John could chime in. I'm just getting back into deadlifts again and want to do 300kg this year. This was one of 2 heavy singles at 260kg, and using hook grip.

Am i doing anything majorly wrong here? I'd be very grateful if the experienced deadlifters like Rex and John could chime in. I'm just getting back into deadlifts again and want to do 300kg this year. This was one of 2 heavy singles at 260kg, and using hook grip.

Looked perfect to me!

WoW - so damn strong.

You bent perfectly with the knees and kept your back straight with good form.

Nice work Sam....! It was a strong , easy up DL. :rock

I'm not an expert on DLs but I think your form was very good my friend.

nice DL!

my opinion:

- lower part: keep bar closer to you

- work glutes/hams (which look to me as your weak link here, seeing the "rebending" of your legs on the second part of the lift)

there is some room for some progression here IMO

Thanks everyone. For the hams/glutes i have been doing RDLs and pullthroughs - i realised this was a weakness a while ago. I think it comes from squatting narrow stance in oly shoes, which makes them quad dominant. I'll post some more vids up soon to see if there is any improvement.

Super strong, hard to tell from this camera angle if the bar was directly over the middle of your foot, it kinda looked like it was out by your toes (which would be too far from your body).

What kind of DL are you going for? Not Sumo, Not Stiff legged...what? Cos either way: that looked pretty good to me for a grip it and rip it DL.

Thanks guys. I'm going to deadlift again tomorrow, after squats. I will keep the bar closer to my shins this time. Twig, i'm just trying to deadlift in a way that will allow me to pull the most weight.

Sam,

I second The Swiss and Honk in their analysis. Overall your DL form looks quite good and you're inspiringly strong.