Expanding Lungs?

Pancake Sprawl

i was wondering if holding your breath could be an exercise you use to expand your lung capacity or if what your born with is what your born with and the only way to change it would be to make it smaller by smoking and what not?

Or you could like, you know, do aerobics?

but does this really expand the lungs? i thought it just drops your weight.

I believe theres a herbal treatment for that. Grown there in Maui from what I remember.

- Aaron

:D :D :D

i was wondering if holding your breath could be an exercise you use to expand your lung capacity or if what your born with is what your born with and the only way to change it would be to make it smaller by smoking and what not?

I'm not an expert but I believe lung capacity is more or less fixed - you're not going to be able to create more volume within your rib cage. However if you want to improve your VO2 max (which is I'm guessing is what you meant) it is suggested that you need to raise your heart rate to between 65% - 85% of its maximum for 20 minutes 3 to 5 times a week (http://www.brianmac.co.uk/vo2max.htm). Although I've read the amount it affects individuals is usually between 5% - 20%. For people who have smoked in the past, lungs gradually clean up a bit and oxygen uptake will improve but it will be fairly slow.

I believe theres a herbal treatment for that. Grown there in Maui from what I remember.

- Aaron

All kidding aside, the only thing I have ever seen on it was in a Universal bodybuilding program I sent away for thru the mail over 20yrs ago. they recommended breathing squats followed by heavyish pullovers where you took a full breath before descending with the weight. was supposed to stretch out your ribcage and lungs.

- Aaron

It's my understanding that you can't increase the size of your lungs. What you can do is increase the efficieny of what you have by breath holding, proper breathing and thinking impure thoughts (causes panting).