Kaz

Roark

still owe Kaz $15

Thursday, November 21, 2002 10:17 PM

Back in the late 70s when I was a professor at the University of Wisconsin, I owned a gym in Madison, where Kazmaier got his start as a lifter. I bet him $15 that he couldn't pinch grip three 45s. He promptly picked up 3 in EACH hand, and walked across the gym and back, dropped the plates and held out his hand. I still owe him.

The most amazing feat of grip strength I ever witnessed.

[from Dr. Squat's board, by Dr. Squat]

which part of the paragraph IS true?

was he ever a professor at University of Wisconsin in the seventies?

did he really own a gym in Madison?

did he really even know Kaz in those days?

the pinch grip of the three fortyfives per hand?

that he still owes him? :hehe

How does this claim compare to what David Horne and

Richard Sorin and others have done?

Pinching 135 in each hand, performing a farmer's walk

for several feet, with one turn involved. Smooth sides

out.

The width of three 45s in those days would have been

how many inches? If old type York plates were used,

or newer width, narrower plates, what would be the

width difference?

David Horne, remind me what your best ever one hand

pinch lift is, on what width, and how long held? Richard

Sorin, the same info please?

Joe, don't forget the difficulty factor of no bar through the center.  Based on Dr. Squat's description, it sounds like he...ahem....did this without a rod through the center of the plates.  I agree with one thing, that would be one of the most impressive grip displays ever.

Got some info from David Horne this morning. You know, David

who happens to have some of the stronger hands on this

planet?

His best pinch grip lift is 67.5 kgs on a 2" width.

In July this year he piched three 45 lb Weider discs together and passed them from hand to hand for ten reps,

In answer to my question if he is able to pinch three 45s in each hand smooth side out and perform a farmer's walk, he