Good Weight's For Beginner's

justiceislost1988

What are good numbers to look for in the chubby 270 pound range, for the 3 big lifts? Keep in mind, for the first time doing any weight lifting. :blush

Id Say

Bech 185-205

Squat 285-315

Dead- 365

These would be good lifts for a beginner, but if you're pretty chubby your leverages may hinder your deadlift.

When I started lifting with a skeletal frame at age thirteen I knew my lifts were weak and would stay that way for a while. I chose to focus on the personal improvement aspect of it and was thrilled to increase by five pounds or eek out one more rep on my squat every workout. That's how I defined "good" and it kept me motivated.

Id Say

Bench 185-205

Squat 285-315

Dead- 365

Agreed. Though I think you'd be able to pull more than that off. And like Eric said, I always try to add at least 5lb to each compound lift every week.

Edited by Magnus

I think my lifts as a freshman in HS @ 190# would be good for a full grown beginner @ 270

Bench 305

Squat 405

Didnt do DL but Cleaned 245

- Aaron

If you're just starting - truly starting with no lifting background, then there's no intelligent reason to even attempt a max for the next 3-6 months. You should be doing 3-5 sets of 135 lb x 10 reps on squats, bench, DL (with appropriate assistance lifts) for the first month, then gradually increase the weight, say 10lbs per week until you struggle to maintain good form for the whole set. Your big focus here should me form & training your body to get the feel of the lifts. Once you get to 225 or so for 5 sets of 8, then you can begin to work down to 5 x 5 workouts, then 5 x 3. for say 1 month each, then try a max on each lift. Trying to max before you've built a good solid base means probable injury & down time, or quitting altogether.