Relatively Strong

Scott Styles

After some time off posting workouts, I've got my training in gear. I have goals, I have a plan, and I'm successfully executing it. Over the next year, I will become relatively strong. I've got a list of body weight dependent strength goals that will require me to either get my weight down or my strength up. Some are easy, some are hard, most I have never done before.

Last fall my weight peaked in the mid 240's. I've been dropping weight since then and most recently came in at 223 this morning. I'll be updating this log as I hit goals, or if I have a particularly grip centric workout I feel like posting about. The core of my workout program is an early morning M/T/Th/F upper / lower split, along with caloric restriction that has me dropping 1-2lbs a week. One weekday evening I fit in a random grip workout, one weekend day I fit in a random workout with whatever I feel like doing. Today it was a walk, kettlebells, and 18" lockouts DO on my axle. I'll break this pattern for a few months in the summer with an early morning kettlebell centric workout outside, then return to it in the fall/winter.

Without further blabbing, the goals are below. I may add to them as I get good ideas. I do well at this type of training and will hit most of these before the year is out:

1. 1/3 BW KETTLEBELL

--------------------

1.1 Clean

1.2 Push Press

1.3 Snatch

1.4 Press

1.5 Bottoms Up Press

2. 1/2 BW KETTLEBELL

---------------------

2.1 Clean

2.2 Push Press

2.3 Snatch

2.4 Press

2.5 Bottoms Up Press

3. 3/4 BW BARBELL

----------------

3.1 Front Squat

3.2 Clean

3.3 Push Press

4. 1.0 BW BARBELL

---------------

4.1 Front Squat

4.2 Clean

4.3 Push Press

5. BW

---------------------

5.1 Chin

5.2 Pistol per leg

5.3 5 Chins

5.4 5 Pistols per leg

5.5 3x5 Chins

5.6 3x5 Pistols per leg

5.7 5x5 Chins

5.8 5x5 Pistols per leg

5.9 Handstand

5.10 Handstand Press Up

5.11 L-sit

6. Grip

------------------------