Isg Experiment

Jeff Parker

I am doing an experiment to see how much carry over work with an ISG will give me to my regular grippers. To start my experiment I need to list my current gripper strength with the 2 grippers that I will be measuring my progress with. COC2 and RB240N. The RB I got from Ronnie Castro that he rated at around a 2.7

Current Strength: All done with CC set

Right: COC2 closed for 4 consecutive reps opened past parallel

RB240N: 1/4" from close

Left: COC2: 1/4" from close

RB240N: 1" from close

I have never used an ISG before. It is sitting under my Christmas Tree right now, waiting until the 25th to be opened. Today, the 15th of December will be my last gripper workout until I open the ISG. I will run the experiment for 1 month, testing my strength with the same 2 grippers at the end. I will post my workouts with my ISG, using the estimated pounds from the supergripper pounds calculator page so it will be easy to get a general idea of progress with the ISG. I feel this will be easier than listing the different settings the springs are in. I will use the ISG 2-3 times a week, depending on what is going on.

My Hypothesis:

I will be able to close the RB240N for 2 reps right. I will get it to almost 1/4" left. I will close the COC2 for 2 reps left. I will be able to get it 8 times right.

Any guesses as to my progress are welcome, it should be a fun experiment and hopefully my grippers go up because I am doing Bobs MI grip contest in Feb.

• 2 weeks later...

Christmas day was the first workout! Not an organized or planned out workout at all. I messed around with it a lot, trying it upside down and right side up. I really liked the feel of it, very gripper like when held upside down. After using it for a couple hours on and off, I decided to go up the chart for a max attempt. I will be using it mostly upside down, and all max attepmts will be done that way, but I also liked using it the other way for a different feel.