Construction Labor Workers

Mitch Kirchner

I know some of these older guys 40-50 years old with alwesome grips and they have never worked out or nothing. Just worked hard day in day out for many years. These guys got extremly strong hands. I've done labor jobs and u have to have strong hand but I never got my hand that strong. I think its because the longest i've done labor work was lioke durring the summer or when the neighbor needed some help. I think this strength takes many years to develop that lifting or any other training won't do. Something I think called Old Man Stregnth. Do u develop strenth u can't from working out from manual labor job?

Mitch I worked as a framer in Florida for a few years.And needless to say you develop more of a functional strength. I was lifting wood,cutting wood, banging nails all day, the list goes on and on.Add the enviorment down here in florida," the blazing heat". And the end result will make you a tough S.O.B.Your lifting,pulling,holding from all kinds of unatural angles and positions making the muscles strong in a funny way.Your not primarily zooming in on a specific muscle there all getting worked.So lifting weights is good to get big and strong and so is building houses.Both take years to get where you want to be.Hope this helps.

Manual labor is hit and miss. For every guy who gets strong doing it, there are many more who get very little. Controversial, but my opinion based on observation. Sometimes those who are naturally stronger to begin with and have better recuperative ability will be the ones who stick with the manual labor jobs. I've started tough jobs and was usually a lot stronger than nearly all the guys who had been doing it for a long time, just because of my weight training (and my deadlift max usually hovers around 400, so I'm not that strong).