Bodybuilding And Grip Training

musclehead

I'm new to the boards here and I just ordered a #1 and #2 COC gripper. I am 20 years old and I have been bodybuilding for about 3 years. Since I am a bodybuilder I have been training my forearms with excersise such as wrist curls and reverse wrist curls. Now I know COC grippers are for grip strength, but will they work my entire forearm too? Should I train with the grippers and still train my forearms at the gym?

PS

How much pressure does it take to crush a can of soda or beer?

I would still do a lot of 'gym' lifts to build your arms for the stage. In fact many here do plenty of wrist curls (infinate variations), reverse curls, and other forearm exercises in their routine.

No clue about the soda though..sorry.

I am 20 years old and I have been bodybuilding for about 3 years.

I am very sorry to hear that. I will do my best to convert you over from the dark side.

A grip machine will give you much more of a pump than grippers. But 1 gripper is much cheaper. Doing the high reps always gave me a pump, not as much as the machine but pretty good if I did tons of sets in like an hours time.

I am 20 years old and I have been bodybuilding for about 3 years.

I am very sorry to hear that. I will do my best to convert you over from the dark side.

A grip machine will give you much more of a pump than grippers. But 1 gripper is much cheaper. Doing the high reps always gave me a pump, not as much as the machine but pretty good if I did tons of sets in like an hours time.

PS: any recommendation on training frequency? In theory could one carry around the gripper all day and train as much as possible only with the gripper and eventually close the #3? Or would you say a specialized routine is required with a variety of exercises?

A site about Manfred Hoeberl claimed "nearly 600" lbs of pressure to blow up a can of pop.