Im Blue Nail?

bigmatt

I have been bending on and off for about 6 months. A friend and I would go down to Home Depot and get ¼” cold rolled steel rod and cut it down to 6”. Now I can bend it in under 20 seconds and on a good day under 10 seconds to well under 2 inches! So the other day I bought some IM Blue nails just so my friend and me could be on the same page as every one else. Well thinking I could do them in the same fashion as the ones I have done before I was stumped bad!! I tried my hardest and hurt my hand and only got it to about 70 degrees! So my question is why the hell is the (BLUE) so much harder than the stock I got at the depot?

Thank you for your help in advance!!

Matt :rock

Lots of inconsistency between different manufacturer's stocks of CRS. Some HRS is tougher.

The CRS I have is ridiculous.

-Jedd-

I'd say the Home Depot stock cut to 5" is about as tough as an average blue. Just keep cutting yours down and you'll be there in no time.

I'd say the Home Depot stock cut to 5" is about as tough as an average blue. Just keep cutting yours down and you'll be there in no time.

I agree, in my experience most if not all store bought quarter inch stock is easier than the IM blue/yellow material. I remember myself having the same rude wake-up call when, after being confident of multiple 1/4" hrs bends at 6 inches, being spanked by the IM blue. Either cut down the 1/4" as squeeze said, or first try the IM yellow, which to me is tougher than most store bought hrs at 1/4" x 6". Also, look for crs rather than hrs, which MAY be tougher. The ace hardware and home depot where I live has both hrs and crs lengths of 1/4" stock clearly labeled.

I bought 1/4 inch cold rolled steal before in home depot, and it was super hard to bend. it was harder than the IM blue nail. :dry