A Matter Of Wrist Strength- Bending

wigam

Hiya!

I'm new to the whole grip training thing. Just got some RB 100 grippers to play with which i can just about close with my girly grip :(

My grip training consists of:

gripper (fingers)

plate pinches (thumb)

elastic band extensions (extensors)

levering (wrist)

farmers walks (supporting grip)

Picking up hex dumbbells end on so that my hand is 80% open (extensors)

I want to develop a death grip for martial arts purposes :whistel and was intrigued by bending. I think i have got most areas covered in terms of grip and forearm strength (i do weight lifting too) however i am especially interested in increasing wrist strength.

I was wondering which style of bending will place the most stress on the wrists and thus give the greatest stimulus. I realise the aim of many benders :laugh is to work up the scale and bend the most difficult bar possible which involves bracing/ using pecs etc. Also there's the issue of bending and folding which i don't quite understand. Does the slim style suit the bill?

Any advice appreciated. Cheers

For pure wrist stregth (other than sledge levering) bend with a double overhand grip with the hands either at waist level, or at chest level with the arms held straight out in front of you. That eliminates most of the rest of the body and really concentrates things on your wrists.

A simple way of maximizing the stress on the wrists would perhaps be to bend with your arms straight out in front of you and keep them there until the bend is completed.

I disagree. The simple fact that you are not strong in the "arms strait out" position would limit the stress on the wrists.

If you're looking to bend as a means to develop wrist strength for martial arts, I'd assume you are looking for uniformity as well. I'd suggest bending underhand and overhand. You may want to do some levering with a thick bar as well, as that closer relates to a mans wrist (or neck).

Edited by Dan Cenidoza