Issues With Hand Dominance.

Matt Brouse

What have you fellahs done to deal with over dominance of one hand? I am new to grip training and a few days ago after a workout I decided to take the number one for reps, got 12 easy with my right but struggled for 3 with left. I have noticed that my right hand is progressing much more consistantly and effectively than my left, has anyone dealt with this and how did you handle it?

Also when closing with my left hand I notice the handle sliding up my fingers abit (toward hand) and instead of closing straight the handle move lateral abit, what do you think is up here?

Thanks a lot.

I just go with it. My left is by far the better w/pinch and supporting grip whereas my right is my crushing hand. I train them both but as you said I don't get the reps nor the weights with the weaker hand.

I have experienced the same problem with differing progression rates per hand.

When I was training crush I was physically unable to train left handed at the time, so my imbalance in crushing strength is large. When I switched my focus to training pinch I decided to use my left hand as the throttle and only progress as fast as my left would allow.

I've tried this approach for several months now and it has been a dismal failure. My left hand has stopped gaining and my right continues to gain, despite not working near max capacity. I no longer care as much about any imbalance and train my hands independently.

My advice is to attempt to maintain some balance, but not at the cost of substantial gains.

I have the same problem,my right hand blows away my left hand!I was wondering if the way the coil is wound has anything to do with this?In one hand the coil is close and in the other hand the coil is away from the hand.

Edited by gerryg