Moving On...

Tom Black

Well, now that it looks like things are slowing down on the "Ironmind News" thread (or maybe not), here’s a constructive suggestion for real training under the new rules.

Don’t use the card. The card is for testing, not for training. When I sat down to train with the card I lasted for about the first day. I’ve been using the set and release method, the only way I can hope to get my pinky in a good position (it slips when I bring it out to 2 1/8”). Now, what I noticed is after maybe 20 attempts with the card is that I knew implicitly where my stretched out hand was at the width of the card. To draw an analogy to being a musician, I can move my fingers all around a guitar fret board, I know where they are by “feel.” You don’t need to be a musician to get the “feel” for where 2 1/8” handle spread is, and if you are a little wide or narrow you are still basically training close enough to credit card width to get the proper training effect and range of motion. Use the card for a couple of workouts (or maybe 20 attempts) and get the “feel” for the distance and then don’t use the card again until a point that you should practice a little with it before your certification, or every once in a while to make sure you are still in the right spot.

Tom good post and I have noticed the same thing. It doesnt take long to figure out where you need to be after using the card for a short time.

Austin

Why are many of you so desperate for Strossen's approval, crawling in the dust like a dog trying to please his master? My certification means nothing to me the moment he changed the rules.

Becuase we see this as a new challenge for training we are desperate for Strossens approval? I have no intentions of certifying on the #4 but would like to close all m 3's this way and I cant see where your coming from. If you dont like it then dont train with it.

Austin

If you dont like it then dont train with it.