When To Start Bending?

ianders1

In honor of what I hope to be a change from newbie to something else with my 100th post, I wanted to ask all of you grip gods :bow a question.

I'm wondering when to start bending. I read on bender's site to wait at least 6 weeks, but up to 6 months. My upper body is quite strong from 11yrs of weights, but I still can't completely close the #1 (1/8" to go), but I've been doing that and tons of other grip work for the last 2 months. Because of my carpal tunnel-like condition, my progress has been relatively slow, though. Also, I'm only plate curling 2 10s.

Should I wait till my hands are stronger to start bending, and if so, what criteria should I use to know when to start - when I can plate curl 3 10s or something?

Thanks in advance for your advice :bow

My answer would be to start bending right now, even if it is just a cut piece of coat hanger. Seriously. It has made my wrists much stronger, as well as overall & grip strength. Just start real slowly and don't go to a max or failure. I would get a piece of 1/8 or 3/16 HRS and cut it to like 7 or 8" and just work it back and forth til it snaps. This will toughen your hands, wrists, and condition your upper body as well. I used to wear wrist wraps when powerlifting because I felt I had weak wrists, now I figure, why not just make em stronger...

I hear ya about the carpal tunnel, I type & do 10 key alot so I feel it after awhile, I try to take breaks from long typing sessions to save my wrists. Good luck and keep us posted.

I think you should try right away, but I also agree you should start slowly and work up to the point where it gets really difficult. If you are unsure, I think the idea about long pieces of coat hanger, or 1/8" HRS is a great idea.

Stick with Bender's recommendations for gradual progress. I also STRONGLY recommend the sledgehammer exercises. I have been doing these religiously, and I have seen tremendous improvement in my forearm and wrist strength.