Jump to content

Under the Spotlight - Grip Profile - EMIL BECH


Vinnie

Recommended Posts

Here is a youngster and a fellow gripper specialist from across the pond (from me):  EMIL BECH!  Emil hails from Denmark, where I have never been, and I have never met him in person.  But, like many folks I've "met" only here on the Board, I feel like I know him a little already because of the comfortable community of gripsters that hobnobs here.  So let's get to know Emil a little better:

1. What are your stats?

    GripBoard name: EmilBB
    Age: 26
    Height: 192cm (6'3")
    Weight: 130kg (285lbs)
    Dominant hand, and hand size: Right, 20cm (7.9'')
    Country/City: Malling, Denmark
    Relationship Status: Single
    Children: None

2. Why did you start training grip (and how long is it now)?

I have always watched a lot of strength/training videos on youtube, I would often come across grip training, most of the time it would involve grippers.
I knew I would have to try grippers myself at some point, so about 2 years ago I ended up buying some heavy grips (150-200-250). I trained with the HG250 for 2 months before getting some Captains of Crush (2-2.5-3).
I almost closed the 3 out of the package, I felt I had the strength to close it so I knew my technique was off. 
That's actually why I joined the gripboard, I needed advice on my technique. @Fist of Fury told me to watch Paul Knight's video on how to set a gripper, I watched the video and ended up closing the 3 next training session.
After closing the 3 I was hooked, I found something I was good at.

3. What are you most proud of accomplishing in grip already, and what is/are your grip goal/goals?

My proudest accomplishment is without a doubt the MM1 cert. I was super stressed about it because I ended up tweaking something in my middle finger and forearm only a couple of days before it arrived, thankfully I was able to get it closed regardless. It was close to being a fail though.
The original MM cert retired shortly after I got certified on the MM1, so I'm obviously very happy I got the chance to be part of that legendary certification.

My current goal is the 3 cert, which I've been chasing for a while. I injured my ring finger 4 months ago, so the cert seems far away now but I'm slowly getting stronger each week.

4. How do you currently structure your overall training/how do you incorporate your grip training?

I train grippers once a week, usually on Fridays. Right now I'm coming back from an injured finger as mentioned earlier, so I'm just doing 3 sets of 8 parallel reps as heavy as I can without aggravating the injury. 
Last Friday it was 114 RGC, which felt fine so I'm doing 118 next Friday. Besides grippers I just do some dynamic pinch on a homemade TTK and some light plate curls. I'm planning on building a saxon bar so I can incorporate that too.

5. What hobbies (other than grip/bending/lifting) do you enjoy?

Video games, cycling & sometimes axe throwing.

6. Do you have a personal anecdote, topic or thoughts you'd like to include in your profile?

I just want to say thanks for doing these profiles Vinnie and please keep doing your competitions reports, they're super fun to read!

7. Whose Grip profile would you like to see next?

Nathan Holle or Jermiah Merciconah

  • Like 10
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy policies.