Grippers created equal??

cmmoore628

I’m working to climb the COC gripper ladder in hopes of certifying the #3.  I have a growing number of grippers to fill any gaps in my training. I recently learned of GD Iron Grip adjustable grippers. It’s a different style gripper compared to the coiled spring style of traditional grippers.
Do you think adjustable grippers or the like create bad habits?  Should I stick with the traditional gripper for my training?  Thanks

If the goal is to certify on the #3, then I would stick to torsion spring grippers, especially wide grippers like CoC, GHP & Standard.

• Like 7

I've never used a gd iron before, I am certified on the #3 and I would say you only really need coc trainer, 1, 2, 2.5, and at least 1 3...having a few different pre-rated options is useful to get yourself comfortable with light, average and heavy ones, what a really wide heavy one feels like, what a narrower but really high mounted stiff one feels like. If you really want to fill any other gaps past that get a standard cobalt and a standard iron. I don't think you need a gd iron for anything, and because it's not torsion, the entire sweep would probably feel much different

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

If the goal is to close torsion spring grippers like the CoC, stick with using those style of grippers. Adjustable grippers have some carryover but not enough to be worth spending extra money when you are better off working on your set and crush with a normal torsion spring gripper like a Standard or CoC. 

• Like 1

51 minutes ago, cmmoore628 said:

Do you think adjustable grippers or the like create bad habits?