chrisof4

I am new to the world of bending (I started Jan. 1, 2004). This seems like a very supportive place, and I want to briefly introduce myself.

My father-in-law has been bending bright 60d common nails for as long as my wife can remember. Here in Kansas City, most people know him by his nickname, Nailbender. He is now 63 and can still bend several nails a day.

He also hauls the equipment for the NFL teams from the airport to the stadium and then back to the airport after the games. Nailbending is a part of his business because he routinely bends nails for anyone in the league who asks him. He takes great pride in the fact that no NFL player has ever bent one of his nails.

This last year I began helping him, and it is possible I will take over all or part of his business at some time in the future. I think it would be great to continue with the bending aspect, because it acts as a great ice-breaker, and it also helps people remember you from year-to-year. It is also a lot of fun.

I started bending 3/16" HRS on January 1 of this year. I started with 7" and gradually worked down to 5". Since I have never bended before, I am going relatively slow so I can find out where my current limits are without injuring myself. Once I could do 3 of these in succession, I switched over to 3/16" CRS which I found more difficult. I gradually worked down to 5" with the CRS, but can still only bend one at a time.

Last night I managed to bend a 40d 5" polebarn nail, which I found much more difficult than the 3/16" CRS. I also tried a 60d 5", but was only able to kink it. I guess my short term goal is to be able to bend bright 60d common nails as well as my father-in-law before next football season.