Generations of Ironmind Blockbusters

Ben Helms

I recently acquired an older model Ironmind Blockbuster and this is my first time ever using one too. This block has extremely slick paint and will not take any chalk what so ever. Does the newer model take chalk better? I’ve seen people training with theirs and it’s caked in chalk and I just don’t understand how they are getting chalk to stick. My best lift with this block was 70.8lbs and I’m very curious what I could pull on a newer version if it takes chalk better. 

Side note:

My block has the Ironmind sticker on the inside and it’s holographic. I’ve noticed the new version has a matte finish sticker on the outside of the block now. Hopefully someone could help me figure out the modified this one. Seems older but is in brand new condition. 

• Like 2

I recently acquired an older model Ironmind Blockbuster and this is my first time ever using one too. This block has extremely slick paint and will not take any chalk what so ever. Does the newer model take chalk better? I’ve seen people training with theirs and it’s caked in chalk and I just don’t understand how they are getting chalk to stick. My best lift with this block was 70.8lbs and I’m very curious what I could pull on a newer version if it takes chalk better. 

Side note:

My block has the Ironmind sticker on the inside and it’s holographic. I’ve noticed the new version has a matte finish sticker on the outside of the block now. Hopefully someone could help me figure out the modified this one. Seems older but is in brand new condition. 

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Ben Helms said:

Side note:

I have only ever used my blockbuster not sure how old it is should be fairly new but it is unbelievably slick if you finally get it to season a bit one slip and all the chalk rubs off. Mine also has the sticker on the inside not sure if it’s holographic or not I’ll look when I get home. But yeah I have no idea what the trick is to actually get it seasoned well. 

• Like 1