How is my gripper technique?

EmilBB

So I've been training with HG grippers for 2 months, the 150, 200 & 250 models. I ended up being able to close the 250 for five sets of five, so I thought I would buy the captain of crush #2, #2.5 & #3 to see where I was at. Closing the #2 & #2.5 went well, however with the #3 I got 1-2mm from closing it. I feel like I have the strength for the #3, maybe just lacking technique to getting it closed. Which would make sense, since I'm only 2 months in. I have of course watched a ton of technique videos but maybe I'm missing something. Here's the videos of my closes & attempt. The camera angle is pretty bad, so I hope you can see what's going on.

#2 Close: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d23dUwfKRCA

#2.5 Close: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4OmE2Pyu_XM

#3 Attempt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CUxJmZlT_s8

Edited by EmilBB
  • Like 3

As far as placement of the gripper it looks fine but that's all I can say because that's the only thing the videos show.

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply! What's other things I should consider other than the placement? I can get a better video, just let me know what you need to see. 

I think your technique and everything is fine. You set a gripper better than I do. Probably just need to build up some more strength the captains of crush 3 really ramps up at the very end the last couple mm are always going to be the hardest part of the close. Just keep getting stronger and you’ll get touch the handles on the 3 soon.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Fist of Fury said:

Do this...

Thanks, I'll check it out.

58 minutes ago, Nuttgens said:

I think your technique and everything is fine. You set a gripper better than I do. Probably just need to build up some more strength the captains of crush 3 really ramps up at the very end the last couple mm are always going to be the hardest part of the close. Just keep getting stronger and you’ll get touch the handles on the 3 soon.