Pinky & Ring....

Digdogz

After just reading another thread someone mentioned that Brookfield had certain exercises for these specific fingers and that he deemed these the crucial factor for some in closing their grippers.

I know about single digit lifts and their dangers. I have a Gripmaster which can exercise individual fingers but is more about endurance seemingly.

What other methods do people practice for these neglected appendages?

Digz.

Smaller Block weights. I play with a 20 and 25 with just my pinky, and lifted a 35 with pinky and ring. It's an odd feeling once you start to "learn" how to use those fingers.

The Pony-Clamp is another personal favorite.

Shot / dex-ball rotation.

Sand grabbing.

Pinching two 10's.

Walking the fingers up and down a sledge hammer.

Walking the fingers across a single plate.

Inverted gripper closes with last two fingers.

'Block weights' I think I know what they are, do we know of any images that I can look at just to confirm?

I work my pinch, heavy, 'bout once a week so I like to think that takes care of that.

I am looking to get me a proper pony clamp as soon as I see one about as i'm after dynamic thumb strength n'all.

I am getting better on the finger walks on a 5kg plate but this is just too much for my pinky and so I will endevour to isolate that finger with a lighter one.

Cheers Bender!

Digz.

Block weights are "half of a dumbell". ie "The blob". The bigger ones are great for the whole hand, but the smaller ones, once mastered, are perfect for the pinky and ring finger. I used to play with my 25, but once my thumbs got strong, it was just a toy. Now I grab it across the face with just pinky and thumb, and walk around with it. That feat gets a better reaction out of spectators than a whole-hand lift of a 45.

I use a 10 or 5 lb plate for finger walking, and usually do it between sets of squats. Something functional to do while resting.

Cool, it was what i suspected.