New To Griping

The Vampire Lestat

Hi, I am new to grip training and was wondering which CoC I should start with, the trainer or the #1. What kind of weight should I be doing on something like Farmer's walk in order to close the #1. I am 20 years old and around 150lb if that maters.

Thank you for your time.

Guest PineAway

I'd say if you can afford both the trainer and the number 1, get em both. If you can only afford one? Hm, I'd say it depends. Do you have any prior grip training? Work at a job such as carpentering, masonry, construction, etc etc where you have to work with your hands? Do you lift normal weights, and are you what might be considered 'strong'? If you can answer yes to one of the previous questions get the #1. If not, and your just starting grip training get the trainer. This is all just my opinion though, I could be wrong.

As for farmers walks, use a weight that is pretty heavy, that you can walk with. Obviously it wont be a weight that you can do curls with or anything. My personal farmers walks routine is...

I set up two benches about 20 feet apart to set the weight on(as long as the gym isnt crowded). I do this because I find it easier than dead lifting off the floor each time.

65lb each hand, down to one bench, and set it on bench. Wait about 2-3 minutes and back down. I repeat this process with 80pounds and then 95pounds. This is just what I am capable of, if you can do walks with 200 pounds each hand, then by all means DO IT! This is just my personal routine, others may recommend something diferent.