Rolling thunder progress

Sapper88

Hello all,

I've been working towards the crushed to dust challenge from ironmind the past 3 or 4 months. I've made sufficient progress on the hub and the grippers but I am stalling on the rolling thunder. I am stuck at 155 pounds. My max number of reps have gone up but max weight has been stagnant. 

I've tried high volume training, putting it at the beginning of work outs to ensure that I am fresh, power lifting style programming using lower rep numbers nearer to max weight, and doing it every other day rather than the twice a week where I started.

I just decided to try the 5/3/1 method and started with that yesterday. 

So I am wondering what type of methods worked for others, namely people who have met the challenge. 

Thanks in advance. 

I am not good at rolling handle lifts but I would suggest reading through some of mobsters training log or maybe asking him for a bit of advice. He has always been very good at these kind of lifts. Perhaps all the 3" wrist roller work he has done over the years has helped.

• Like 1

I'm not strong on the RT but the only thing that has worked for me is heavy lifts. Also lifts with Inch style dumbbells has helped. I know that many people say that high reps with the RT is the way to go but for me it has never really worked. The only time I have progressed with it has been when I've tried to lift near my max twice a week. Obviously you'll need to perodize with high reps and low reps.

For the CTD challenge, forget grippers, that challenge is skewed. The gripper and hub are super easy, it's a Rolling Thunder certification and nothing else.

• Like 3

Fist of fury, what do you mean by it being skewed?

54 minutes ago, Sapper88 said:

Fist of fury, what do you mean by it being skewed?

Ok...I'm not FoF...but this is pretty common knowledge.