Grip training advice

ldavis

HI all, I'm new to gripboard and am looking for some advice on grip training. I have been into strength training and powerlifting for the past 8 years, since I was about 17. I do a lot of grip work and my biggest goal is to certify on the captains of crush #3. I am so close but just cant get the last 4-5 mm of the #3 closed. I have worked with captains of crush grippers for about the past 6 or so years, but I have not improved at all in the last 2 years on them. I train grip once a week. The first reason is because my recovery seems to respond best to this and secondly because of doing heavy rows and deadlifts through the week hit my grip too. I have done basic heavy working sets with the grippers, fat bar work where I just load a bar up with weight and put fat handles on it and hold onto the weight, worked with grippers with the handles filed down, chocked grippers with a hose clamp, heavy negatives and singles on the grippers, and have taken my working set gripper and held it shut as long as I could after doing max reps with it. I'm just not sure where to turn now, but any advice on how some of you guys broke through a grip training plateau would be greatly appreciated! thanks!  

Its hard to say off just that info but you may be doing too much. From what I can gather you are doing the deadlifts and rows bare handed? If so try switching to straps and just training the grip once a week doing the grippers between sets of squats.

You can also go away from grippers for 3-6 months doing other forms of grip training, pinch, thickbar, wrist work etc Or just do heavy gym training for 3-6 months (only using straps for top sets), eat more, gain some muscle and then come back to the grippers.

The reason for this is because eventually the body will simply not respond so either of these will give you a bigger base to peak off, resulting in a higher peak. Good luck.

• Like 1