Recently closed my first two goal grippers: Heavy Grips 200 and CoC#1 (small fish but I am getting there)

Liam Trott

I have been training grippers for a little under three months now and am happy to reach these closes. My training gripper was the Heavy Grips 150. After being able to rep it for 6 x 6 I changed strategy a bit with some advice. I started doing 6 x 3 reps and setting each rep at around 20mm (I passed the handle of another gripper through each time) and held the end of each rep for 3 seconds. I built that up to 6 x 4 holding the end of each rep for 5 seconds. That got me both of these closes.

Edited by Liam Trott
  • Like 4

@Norden I get what he is saying but if I have the gripper that far forward in the hand I can't come close to closing it. I basically lose all contact with the thumb pad unless it slides further back into the hand and I can barely exert any force. Any ideas why that might be?

22 minutes ago, Liam Trott said:

@Norden I get what he is saying but if I have the gripper that far forward in the hand I can't come close to closing it. I basically lose all contact with the thumb pad unless it slides further back into the hand and I can barely exert any force. Any ideas why that might be?

Congrats, it's always exiting to set new PR's.

What you need to do is simply train more, build your thenar muscles up so the gripper handle sits better in the hand. You can  do that by just training more with grippers and on top of that you can train your thumb, which you can do by pinching.

You might feel that a technique which is new to you feels weird at first but thats how it is with everything in life, it will feel better and better as you get used to it.

At the level you're at right now I think you can stick to wide set closes and focus on getting as many closes you can per workout, as you get stronger you can start focusing more on a narrow set like described in the video.

Edited by Fist of Fury
  • Like 3