Thumb Pain During Very Specific Motions

avasatu

As I have stated before, I am fairly new to grip, and before I asked for any advice on this site, I spent about 2 weeks maxing out on various grip events to test where I was at.

About a week ago, before I even posted to this site, after one of my workouts, which consisted of Rolling Thunder, 3 inch block pinch, and biceps/triceps, as well as expand your hand band work, I noticed some pain in my right thumb, which belongs to the stronger hand.

Nothing acutely injured it; of that I am sure. Nothing in my current routine bothers it, and I have taken care to adjust my routine to suit my beginner needs since then (see my other topics).

I do, however, want a diagnosis of sorts, mostly to see if anyone knows what is causing this, what may have triggered it, how long it might take to heal, and what to do to help it along. Let me describe what motions make it hurt, and where:

Sometimes I pick up things in real life as if I was doing a plate curl (my heavy desktop replacement laptop, for example). This has nothing to do with training; it is just how I pick certain things up. My right thumb, sort of "under" my knuckle connecting to the palm, now prevents me from doing this in my right hand simply because it hurts deep in that joint.

Also, if I pick up a heavy jug of olive oil using a standard pinch grip and go to pour some into the pan, I get a little pain as well in the same area, but it goes away with repeated pours of the jug.

Standard wide pinch blocks seem to hurt it a little, so I have switched to a thinner block and moved my thumb position toward to index finger and force the block over my finger slope rather than my thumb slope. This completely negates all symptoms.