Basic Grip

Guest quartz

Guest quartz

Hi All,

Got a question concerning grip and issues that maybe?!? some of you have encountered. Are any of you aware of any medical conditions with grip strength? Over the last few years, I've noticed that I simply can't grip things early in the morning or even after work. For example, last night at the gym I was doing trapezius shurgs with 75 pounds. I can lift the weight fine, but I simply couldn't grip the dumbbell. Oddly, my right hand was fine and was able to grip the weight so I could pick it up. My left hand couldn't get a firm grip on the dumbbell at all...

Any experience something like this? And will grip strengthening help?

Thanks

Guest MikeTheBear

I'm not a doctor or anything, but I've read stuff about grip-strength issues because of an injury I have, so here is my $ 0.02:

The best case scenario:

Grip strength demands a lot from your central nervous system (CNS). So the problem with not being able to grip in the morning/after work is simply that you're tired, and your CNS just is not in the "mood" for heavy lifting. If you have no grip problems during the day when you are alert, then this is the likely cause.

As for your left hand just "not being able to grip," this might be due to a strength imbalance in your dominant and non-dominant hand.

The worst case:

Your not being able to grip in the morning/after work could be due to some carpal tunnel problems.

Your weakness in the left hand could be due to an injury to one of the discs in your neck that is putting pressure on the nerve roots leading to your left hand. This is what I currently have and it sucks.

But don't worry about the worst case yet - monitor your situation, and if it doesn't improve, seek medical advice.

Guest gripmaster316
As for your left hand just "not being able to grip," this might be due to a strength imbalance in your dominant and non-dominant hand.