Need Help With Grip For Deadlifts

Arnath32

Hi, so I'm new to the gripboard. I saw it through Beastskills and figured I could use some help from persons more experienced than myself. I'm doing strength training, specifically a slight variation of the stronglifts 5x5s, and I am starting to have problems with holding on to the bar for deadlifts. My last workout was 265lbs and I was able to do it with some chalk and a small change in the way I was gripping the bar but I feel like I'm getting close to my limits. What kind of stuff can I do to improve my grip to ensure its my back and glutes that can't handle the weight and not my hands. Also, I do rock climb at an indoor gym sometimes (a lot earlier this year, less now during the holidays because I work in retail) and have a lot of trouble with slopers so wondering what I should do for that as well. Thanks you in advance for taking the time to read this and all help is appreciated.

Here you go. I made this vid earlier in the year at my climbing gym. I went from never deadlifting last year to now a 500 DO grip deadlift at 205# BW. Do these things, especially maxing on DO grip before going mixed and rack holds, and your grip will quickly improve. For the slopers spend more time on them. Do hangboard holds with 3 fingers and open hand. Open hand and time on the holds is a must. Also work your core. The core and body positioning is key to sloper domination. Hope this helps.

• Like 1

A couple solutions. Short term on the dead lifts just use either a mixed grip or a hook grip - I prefer the hook but either one should allow you to hold onto the bar while you develop a stronger DL grip over time. As for the slopers - that's more of an open hand strength so probably the best training is going to be a hang board workout targeting open hand strength with lots of specific sloper training - which probably should be the majority of the way you use climbing holds anyway - crimp is not as safe.