Why No Wrist Strengthening?

bubba29

I have been strength training for sports, strength, and health for about 27 years. Just recently i discovered I have weak ass wrists. I finally got my hands on a 1/4" grade 5 and couldn't even budge. I have been playing with wrist strengthening for only a few months but I have really been humbled.

My question is why isn't wrist strengthening done at all in conventional training for sport? I cannot think of many sports where it wouldn't help. Is it because people have not figured out a way to make money selling stuff for the wrist? Is it because there isn't much research to support it? I wish I discovered this 20+ years ago.

Edited by bubba29

I have been involved in strength training for 10 years and no one ever told me about training wrist strength. The only thing you see guys doing in the gym are wrist curls and reverse curls. I noticed my wrist were weak when I started competing this year in grip comps. I'm working really hard to bring them up because I loose way too many points in medleys.

The only athletes I see doing wrist stuff is baseball players. It's popular for them to do wrist roller work. I've seen pitchers do various exercises as well, mostly antagonistic or prehab though.

Yes, the wrists do a ton for lower arm strength. I wish I knew about it back then too. I'm sure it would have helped for baseball and even volleyball, not sure about basketball though.

• Like 1

The only athletes I see doing wrist stuff is baseball players. It's popular for them to do wrist roller work. I've seen pitchers do various exercises as well, mostly antagonistic or prehab though.

Yes, the wrists do a ton for lower arm strength. I wish I knew about it back then too. I'm sure it would have helped for baseball and even volleyball, not sure about basketball though.

i bet long jump shots would become easier with a stronger wrist. did climbing help your wrist strength?

Hockey players work their grip and wrist strength as well.