Bending Newbie Question.

Chez

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to bending. I'm still learning the technique but I have a bending stock question. I can currently bend the IM yellow nail DO and a green nail DU (Not impressive I know). What store bought piece of steel is between a green and yellow (for training DU) and between a yellow and blue for DO. I'm looking for cheap stuff that I can buy from a local hardware store.

Thanks,

Chez

Chez-

3/16" square would be a good bet for the DU. You might even be able to find some easier 1/4 x 6/6.5" Grade 2 bolts in this range. For DO, if you have Yellows left, you could cut them down closer to a Blue. Or buy a bunch of 60 penny nails. Many of these will be comparable to a Blue; some will be a lot easier, some harder. If you have already bent the Yellow, you will be very close to the Blue. As soon as I had technique down, it was a very short time between the two for me.

Thanks for reply Buccos. I just want to make sure about the full name of the 3/16" square. Is that a bolt? I know very little about this stuff. Hopefully I can make a quick transition to the blue nail like you did. I have bent a blue in the past but I cheated and braced it against my leg. Is this a good technique to get strong till I can do it the right way?

Thanks for reply Buccos. I just want to make sure about the full name of the 3/16" square. Is that a bolt? I know very little about this stuff. Hopefully I can make a quick transition to the blue nail like you did. I have bent a blue in the past but I cheated and braced it against my leg. Is this a good technique to get strong till I can do it the right way?

3/16" square is cold rolled steel stock 3/16" wide and square as opposed to round.

A yellow is 1/4" round CRS(cold rolled steel) at 7" long and a blue the same but 6" long, so a length of 1/4" CRS that you can cut to length would be a good idea.

As with everything, steel varies, so you may get some that's tougher or easier.