Please Critique!

patrickmeniru

Hey guys,

I recently posted on the introduce yourself topic and was advised by Pete1006 to post a video of myself attempting the #3 gripper in order that you guys could give me some advice, i can shut the #2 easily but am nowhere near the #3. NB - video taken after a pretty strenuous gym/grip session so my hands are pretty beat up by this stage, in particular my left hand was struggling as you can see in the video, the #2 close was more difficult than it should have been and i gave up on the #3 attempt with my left hand. (I'm right handed).

Any feedback would be welcomed, i'm very new to the whole world of grippers and grip training, but i'm used to constructive criticism in sport so feel free to say it how it is!!

Pat

you should look at other videos of guys setting grippers before closing them. In that video you are basically do whats called a "no set". A set is when you use the other hand to bring the gripper handles together a little so you can wrap your fingers around for an attempt with one hand. Its very hard to "no set" a #3. also you should move the handle in your palm a little closer to your fingers so you have more leverage. If you pull your thumb forward while setting the handle in your palm will not slide back to much. you look like you are pretty strong. You just need to practice setting a gripper so you can get the best leverage. There are top grip guys like paul knight who have videos on youtube explaining gripper sets. check them out since they are best at it.

that vid taught me how to set.

Now with a Vulcan I have to learn all over. :blush

first link didn't work, copy this into your browser:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qj9Ue9co4us

ya, the vulcan is a beast to set. I actually went out to the hardware store today and bought texture tape and wrapped it around the handles. The slick handles were killing me.