Grip Strength Dropping, Inside Of Elbows Sore - Advice?

mt-tom

I've been doing grip work for about 11 years now, mostly grippers. My general routine (2-3 times a week) is a few warmups with some light grippers, 15 to 20 singles with a cut BBE (filing a little more every week), 15 to 20 negatives with a IM #4, followed by some reps with a BBE or IM #3, and some pony clamp thumb work. I cycle through this every so often and have have been making steady improvement over the last couple of years - until recently. Over the last five months my grip strength has been dropping and the insides of my elbow has been hurting - presumably where the forearm flexors tie into the bone. The other fly in the ointment here is that I have had several surgical procedures on my pancreas in this timeframe under general anesthesia with some narcotic pain meds thrown in from time to time. So I'm thinking I might be developing tendonitits, the anesthesia and narcs have brought me down, or both. My bench press has also dropped, but is coming back. My grip is not! Right now I can still close my BBE with maximal effort and BP 365, but these are great reductions for me without any reduction in effort. In fact, I have been incresing my intensity and load.

I could sure use some advice or guidance. I am not looking for profesional medical advice, but many of you have been around the horn and might have even experienced what I have and overcame it to gain again. I appreciate any help that you could offer.

Tom :)

First off, those are great accomplishments on both grip and bench press. In regards to your problem, I would say a simple break could be needed. Anywhere from 1 week to 2 months might solve all the problems. At least, that helps when my tendonitis flares up. Extensor work with Ironmind bands or just any rubber bands could help as well. Finally, icing the hurt elbow(s) helped me in the past. Good luck with your recovery.