Strength Difference Between Hands

treesloth

I've noticed an odd thing... My right hand seems to be strengthening nicely, and can now click off (with some difficulty) 10 reps of the #2 CoC. This is pretty steady progress. My left hand, on the other hand (see what I did there?), doesn't really seem to be progressing much at all. On a good day, I can get maybe 3 of the #2 and 10 solid clicks of the 1.5, and I'm not seeing progress anything like with the right hand. Today I could only do 1... after that, the last .5" was just too much.

I'm pretty new to this, so I'd like to know what I should expect. Perhaps this is perfectly normal, and I just need to allow more time and work. Or, maybe I'm doing something wrong. So, a couple of questions...

1) How much stronger is your dominant hand than the other?

2) Does this seem like an effective routine?

1x10 CoC "G" (warm-up)

1x10 CoC "S" (warm-up)

1x10 CoC "T" (warm-up)

1x10 CoC 1 (warm-up)

1x10 CoC 1.5

2x10 CoC 2 (with additional reps to fatigue)

That is followed by a full day's rest with light work on a little squeeze ball from the sporting goods store.

Naturally, my left hand can't do the last line, so I do what I can with the 2 and then spend the rest of the reps on the 1.5. I've also added holding the 1.5 closed and negatives. I definitely need to get a 2.5, I think, and should have one on the way soon.

Anyway, like I said, this might be perfectly normal, but since I've never focused on hand strength before, I'm sort of learning new things about myself here.

Edited by treesloth

I am horrible at making suggestions for others, but here are a few comments:

- Seems like a lot of reps

- Perhaps cut the "10" to "5" on the Trainer, Number 1, and Number 1.5.

- The real work is on the 2, so perhaps you will get more out of that by cutting back on the other stuff