Question For The High Volume Guys...

seether

I’ve never posted on here before other than to buy stuff, just try to read as much as I can and learn from the veterans. But I just have to ask, and this is mainly directed at the “High Volume” guys out there…

How do you find the time to train the rest of your body??? I’ve been working my grip specifically for over two years now and I’ve made some great gains and I’ve gotten a pretty good handle on what works best for ME. I train grippers (or machines) 5 days a week, 2 heavy and 3 active recovery and try to bend at least 4 days a week; anything less than that and I begin to lose strength. My grip sessions last about two hours each, sometimes longer depending if it’s a weekday or a weekend. As far as the rest of my body goes, I have a loader tire for flipping, a few homemade sandbags, a steel keg, a steel 55 gallon drum, 2 inch by 50 foot manila rope, 1 ½ inch by 100 foot manila rope, a sled, and of course my weights. I mainly do conditioning work or “event/fight” style training. Mainly because it’s much more fun than your regular 3x10 or 5x5 barbell workout or even the 20 rep squat and it’s easier on my tired old joints.

So, back to my question… Between having high volume grip sessions, going to work every day (I wake up for work at 3:30am 6 days a week), spending time with my family, and just life in general. And don’t even get me started on the weather lately! How do you guys find time to train the rest of your body, let alone cardio????? I don’t even get to pinch nor do thick bar work as often as I should.

Or am I the only one that has a tough time juggling grip specific work and full body work?

Thanks for any/everyone’s time, thoughts, insights, and advice if they have it to give.

Seth

I also have an active life (2 young boys, work, etc...which are my top priorities) and I understand it's not easy to combine training with it.

This is what I do :