First Ever Du Bend

Guest Bullitt

Guest Bullitt

I am brand new to bending. The only other bends I have done were a 60D nail reverse style and a braced trotter horseshoe bend. I bought some 1/4" HRS at the hardware store and cut it into 6" lengths. Here is my first ever DU bend. I know 6X1/4" is nothing, I'm just looking for some feedback from you experienced benders if it looks like I am doing this correctly. Any help is much appreciated. The reason everything is DU and reverse is I cannot get the dang metal up under my chin for a DO bend. Messed up shoulders from too many years of hockey. I can already tell this is going to be as addictive as grippers! :laugh

I also bought some 1/4" square steel. Not sure if it is HR or CR. It's very shiny if that makes a difference. Going to try that over the weekend. I'm assuming that the square will be tougher than the round. Correct?

congrats Mike!

Your hands seems to be VERY strong no doubt!

u can use single wraps or Im wraps instead of fat pads for DU , small size doesnt affect Du so much.

Try to bring the bar high .. Adam Glass just to pick a name does it perfectly , this way u are not using your wrist power but all your body.

i had the same prob about DO bend because it was a matter of lack of flexibility; try shoulder dislocates and after this try to put the bar under your chin and use all your back to bring the bar down. i used 1/4"x6" hrs and it worked for me.

best of luck

Guest Bullitt
congrats Mike!

Your hands seems to be VERY strong no doubt!

u can use single wraps or Im wraps instead of fat pads for DU , small size doesnt affect Du so much.

Try to bring the bar high .. Adam Glass just to pick a name does it perfectly , this way u are not using your wrist power but all your body.