Wrapping

aklifta907

SO I'm a newbie and have been reading all the recent hub bub about wrapping and thick wraps, thin wraps, double layer wrapping etc etc. All I have is 2 thin pieces of suede. each piece is about 8 inches long and 3" wide. What kinda wrap is this considered, thick, thin, ????. When the bolt or nail is wrapped the thickness of the wrap isn't very thick, its just enough to keep the nail or bolt from (what it feels like, piercing the skin) It still hurts when I bend, but I enjoy the pain a little and look forward to it really making my hands tough. Should I change anything or just keep doing whats been working for me?. what are advantages of thicker wrap VS thin wraps?

Thicker wraps gives you more leverage for the initial kink, even tho thinner wraps is based more on wriststrenth (?). This is what it feels for me tho.

8x3 wraps are much thinner than most use. Whether you want to go with more or not is entirely up to you.

Thick wraps are useually used to bend big steel, they give you more leverage so you are able to bend bigger steel.

That's one advantage, you also don't feel any pains from the steel.

The disadvantage: it's generally seen as less 'real bending'; compared to the old days (where thin wraps and no wraps were used) you are stronger even though you're not on a level that the old guys had to be in their time.

Some people have pains in their shoulder from injury's, they are often unable to bend in thick wraps. (Don't ask why, I'm still blessed with healthy shoulders).