Do Problems

aklifta907

So I'm new to bending. I am bending 5.5" CRS 1/4 steel so far and killing 1/4 5" G2 bolts easily. I've bent 2 60D nails succesfully but I must admit they were tough SOB's. My problem is that while trying to get the initial first bend or kink I HAVE to use the DU method. I can generate no power at all in the DO while the bolt or nail is straight. BUT as soon as theres a decent bend in the bolt my DO is very strong and I and finish my bend easily. Am I just not built for a strong DO and the DU is just my style? or does my form absolutely suck and with some instruction I can develope my DO to be strong?.

So I'm new to bending. I am bending 5.5" CRS 1/4 steel so far and killing 1/4 5" G2 bolts easily. I've bent 2 60D nails succesfully but I must admit they were tough SOB's. My problem is that while trying to get the initial first bend or kink I HAVE to use the DU method. I can generate no power at all in the DO while the bolt or nail is straight. BUT as soon as theres a decent bend in the bolt my DO is very strong and I and finish my bend easily. Am I just not built for a strong DO and the DU is just my style? or does my form absolutely suck and with some instruction I can develope my DO to be strong?.

hm, first let me say that it's not a problem to work a lot of DU when you're a beginner. DU builds wrist and tendon strength and will make your DO much stronger.

Regarding overhand, DO is often a little tricky to get the hang off, but check these videos out:

They are somewhat different regarding the kink, but try to see the similarities (there are of course other great kinkers, but these videos really has helped me alot)

/Henrik