Have I Not Been Bending Gr 5?

wlong132003

Ok I have been bending for a couple months now and every time I go to Lowes to pick up some bolts I get the Grade 5's and have the store helper check the computer numbers to verify that there grade 5's Once that is done I move out. My question is this. I can't seem to get the 1/4x 6 or 7" CRS and I can get the bolt that is labeled BL. Is it a grade 2? Or is it the fault of the steel being weaker and stronger?????

BL is a grade 2. Sorry to say it is normally one of the weakest ones as well.

It is easy to identify graded bolts though, they have specific markings on the top of the head, both standard and metric.

bolt markings

It is important to realize realistically where you are at and what progression you need to follow to make progress so don't be discouraged, you will get the crs and g5 before too long.

Thanks for the info I see that chart today when I was searching for my answer and I got upset I started wondering because I felt I was progressing to fast with my bending. Oh well I guess I will have to go bend some more. We should take some pictures of the heads and post them in here to visualize the different bolts. I don't know if it has been done already.

This also means that my 60D's are not real either! I am beyond pissed right now with Lowe's there bins are wrong!

Thant kind of sucks, I guess, but at least you figured out what the problem was. I am sure I've seen posted pictures of bolt heads in someone's gallery for comparison, but I can't recall where (my own camera isn't good enough for close shots or I'd post them myself). But like Tim said, they are easy to identify by the raised hash marks arranged around the edge an equal distance apart. Three marks for a grade 5, six for a grade 8. Grade 2's have none.

The Diesel Crew's bending e-book has this stuff detailed with pictures, plus nail size charts and bending techniques for various styles, if you don't mind spending a few bucks.