Total Newbie

aklifta907

I've been doing grip stuff for a few months now and I decided I wanted to try bending. I went to the local hardware store and the only nails that I bought were only 4" long, but they were 60d nails. They didn't have any 6" 60d nails. I honestly didn't even know what length to get, I just remember people saying to get 60d nails. Anyway's I cut up an old leather welding apron for a wrap and I wrapped up the nail and I bent it into a U pretty fast and easily. Is a 4" 60d nail harder than a 6" 60d nail and was this a good bend for a total newbie?. I bought like 30 nails thinking that It would take me awhile to get through them, but I have bent 4 of them and its really not even challenging me so I wasted that money. I'm going back, what should I look for now?. I want to order some nails for Iron mind or fat bastard, what can I bend in the mean time while waiting?. Thanks for any advice. -Spencer

Well I just watched a video of a guy bending a 60d nail and it looked bigger than my nail in the video, now I'm questioning If truly bought 60d nails, there were about 1 thousand of them in a big bin labeled "60d", but they just don't appear as thick as the ones in the video, I'll have to check now for sure. Its sad that I don't even know what a 60d should look like. :blink

A true 60d nail in the US is 6" long and about 1/4" in diameter. In Europe I believe they are usually 6mm in diameter. 40d nails are fairly common for bending, but I believe they are 5" long (and easier than a 60d). I am not sure what you have if they are 4" long. I buy 60d nails from Home Depot, they are Griprite brand and are in an open box...and definitely 6" long. If you can bend one of those just starting out, you're doing well. You can also look for 1/4" diameter Grade 2 bolts (or hex fasteners). They are very shiny-looking steel bolts, but softer metal than 60d's.